Fall 2013 Impressions

by jh

I wrote some blurbs for the ani.me Fall 2013 anime roundup. I wrote about the following shows: Coppelion, Kyoukai no Kanata, Outbreak Company, Kill la Kill, Golden Time, Nagi no Asukara, Yowamushi Pedal, Non Non Biyori, My Mental Choices are Completely Interfering with my School Romantic Comedy, Galilei Donna and Samurai Flamenco. Click on the pictures to find my writing.

You can find it here.

kill la kill

Coppelion

Coppelion

Interesting premise hobbled by two things: first, it’s use of high school girls, which just strikes me as unnecessary and basically pandering; second, its visual style is so annoying – pointless camera movements that come off as jerky and are never fluidly executed. There is interest and mystery in the world, but it might not surpass these things for me.

Kyoukai no Kanata

kyoukai no kanata

This supposed to be a sort of departure for KyoAni in that it’s more of an adventure/fantasy show, but 10 minutes in they’re already doing the cute girl stuff that they’re known for. This might provide some interesting friction for when it supposedly gets “darker,” but so far right now all we have a cute girl with glasses who has a problem that has to be solved by main dude. Mexican food is also involved. It can only get better.

Outbreak Company

outbreak company

Seemingly terrible premise sort of reminds me of the Japan’s real-life efforts at cultural exportation (Cool Japan). But, upon further reflection, I find it hilarious that there’s an entire bureaucracy in this anime dedicated to spreading the love of little sisters, maids, lolis, moe shit, etc. All the toxic awfulness of anime being dumped into a fresh, pure world; it’s like some bizarre experiment. This is the sole point of interest.

Kill la Kill

kill la kill 2

Hiroyuki Imaishi’s work has always struck me as being unbelievably inventive and yet ultimately shallow. I don’t see this changing with Kill La Kill. And, yet, here I am with a huge grin on my face and wanting more. Imaishi’s work usually feels more like a a shot of adrenaline and less a coherent experience, but that seems to be the point. The only thing that matters is speed.

Golden Time

golden time

I enjoyed Toradora so I want to like this, but the first episode doesn’t really do much to earn its trust. It introduces its main characters, sure (and the OP basically tells you the romantic course of events), but as far as making you want to watch the next episode, it’s a failure.

Nagi no Asukara

nagi no asukara

Heavy-handed setup mean to basically stand as in for racism, etc. Most interesting point is that it’s told from the point of view of the person forced to watch the girl he loves fall in love with someone else.

Yowamushi Pedal

yowamushi pedal

I cringed when we find out that our main character is an otaku who wants to restart his school’s anime club, but throughout the episode, it becomes obvious that none of this is particularly serious, anyway. The show is built out of some pretty standard sports anime cliches and I’m guessing it’s going to have some fun with them. Maybe we’ll have another Eyeshield 21 on our hands. Maybe not.

Non Non Biyori

non non biyori

A complete zero. Just what is going in this anime? Four cute girls in a small town, gentle “oh she’s from the city isn’t that funny” humor that constantly made me want to commit suicide, and the complete lack of anything resembling a personality that isn’t so cookie cutter and boring. This was painful.

My Mental Choices are Completely Interfering with my School Romantic Comedy

noucome

Taking a completely wacko/stupid premise and running with it, Noucome is probably something I should hate (and maybe I will), but I can’t deny that this first episode made me laugh a ton. Maybe it has something to do with my interpretation that the main character is actually being punished by a perverted god. The girl falling out of the sky could ruin everything, though.

Galilei Donna

galilei donna

I think it speaks to where I am as an anime fan that I would’ve rather had a show entirely about the older sister failing out of law school and getting drunk everyday than whatever robot/secret organization thing this is cooking up. That said, this is just me being grumpy. It was fun.

Samurai Flamenco

samurai flamenco

This show hits out of the park the weird friendship that starts between the two main characters. I wasn’t quite sold on the superhero business (it’s just boring to me), but it might become more palatable to me with more episodes.

